The Naked Recruiter

Recruitment Hack #27 - Ignore Or ‘Call Out’ Useless Emails

You do not need to be CC'd into the latest 350 birthday card emails that circulate around the company at any one time. Call them out as time-wasting. Or do what I did when I worked at a large company, I put emails from timewasters under a set rule which put them into a folder called timewasters.

You may occasionally miss something, but generally, Stacy's email about David's birthday in the Colchester office will not be worth reading. Unless you are David in the Colchester office.

I may sound like an old fart, however, so much time is wasted by these emails it makes my blood boil.

If you do decide to call out the time-wasting emailer do it carefully and with tact. Do not say "Sharon this is bollocks, stop sending this stuff about the ‘buy a cake from the supermarket and pretend you baked it’ day."

Instead, say. "Thank you for keeping us all posted on the upcoming bake sale in aid of injured seagulls, however, could I be left off in future as I get a lot of emails each day and I would like to lower my email burden to ensure I am tip-top for my candidates and clients. I hope you understand."

Remember it is your time and your inbox, not that one person who sends the cat meme emails.

***

This Recruitment Hack is excerpted from my book 'Recruitment Hacks,' which is accessible in both Paperback and eBook formats.

To access more valuable recruitment hacks, consider subscribing to our newsletter. Packed with insightful information, it will empower you to excel in any challenging recruitment scenario.


Subscribe to my Blog to stay up-to-date with all the latest from The Naked Recruiter.


#Email Management #Emails #Inbox #Inbox Management #Recruitment Hacks