The Naked Recruiter

Thoughts On Tough Times When Working As A Solo Recruiter

As a solo recruiter taking on the world, all on your lonesome, it can be tough.

It really can be tough, I have been there.

Indeed I am there right now as I write this going through tough times.

My tough times can be summed up at the moment as a treacle. It feels like all my roles are taking forever to mature into actual placements and ultimately money.

Everything that is going on is going to take forever, and it probably will take forever and a day. That is the nature of the beast at times. I know that coming soon will be offers, counter-offers and placements. However, at times it can feel like they are an age away.

It just can be hard to see that happening when you are in the thick of the thousandth failed BD for the latest rejected CV.

Recruitment, like life, is about dealing with the rough and the smooth. Sadly, that is not always on a daily basis. But bad times are never replaced by purple patches.

To be fair this post I feel is starting to ramble and I do not feel like I have made many contributions to the value that I am supposed to be delivered as your super-recruitment-guru - I am very modest.

So when tough times do come around, I find myself reminding myself about why I am doing the 'solo-recruitment thing'. That is thinking about those that I love and the personal goals that I want to achieve. This is all somewhat cliched; however, it does offer the knowledge that it does get me through and it does keep going.

Another tip that I also like to do is changing my location. Sometimes the home office is not working out for me, so I go and work in the hot-desking space I use. Sometimes, if I have not got to telephone work, the library will be my destination of choice.

It all really just depends on the mood I am in and the change I am looking to create at that moment in time.

Personally, I do not think that this change actually makes a real difference, what I do think it does it just give me the permission to get out of the state I am in and to get into another state of being.

This has been a slightly meandering post from myself, however, as always I hope to it has helped you see that everyone goes through tough times every now and again.

Thank you for reading this article.

Please note that I have written this book that you might find interesting: Recruitment Hacks - available on Amazon and at all good bookstores


Subscribe to my Blog to stay up-to-date with all the latest from The Naked Recruiter.


#Recruitment #Recruitment Business #Recruitment Start Up #Solo Recruiter